MIMM: Closet Optimist?

With Restaurant Week taking up the majority of my time, my marvelous is in the small elements of life.

Thanks to The Healthy Diva!

Thanks to The Healthy Diva!

Yesterday was one of the ladies at work’s birthdays (she works in the guacamole station, and is one of the most lovely and happy people I have ever, ever met) and so I made her a quick banana bread cake with a center of some of the leftover cranberry buttercream from Tgiving (I had frozen some of it). I don’t really know how it turned out (because there was only one, for her, and a little extra that I made into a mug cake for Alex). But I did it in 30 minutes, so BAM!

I wrote the follow Saturday before last in between my double, but it is still germane to today. I hope you enjoy! Also, I would love for you all to check out my post Saturday, if you haven’t–it might be one of my favorites yet!

pretzel compl

I would imagine that if you asked most of my friends/family if I was a glass-half-full or half-empty kind of person, they would be less likely to pin me as an optimist. Alex is definitely the optimist in our relationship, and (bless him) sometimes to a detrimental degree. There are times that he trusts too much in the inevitability that things will work out. And often this makes me want to physically hurt him. Yes, he knows this. That I often want to hurt him, that is 😉

towel

I think of myself as a realist, with a tendency towards expecting not necessarily that something will fail, but that I will either a) fall short or b) it won’t work out. I don’t always enter into situations in this mindset, but I usually arrive there after my initial excitement. Consequently, one can imagine why I find the fact that you all seem to think that I see the bright side in the situations to be intriguing/ironic/surprising.  But am I selling myself short? Am I a closet…optimist?

My answer (and this is the answer arrived at after the initial burst of epiphany-related energy) is that no, I am not a closet optimist, or at least not with regards to looking to the future.  But further reflection reveals that I do have an ability to find the positive elements of situations or circumstances that would otherwise appear rather sh*tty.

The-pessimist-The-optimist-and-the-realist

For example, when I tell people I have Crohn’s, I often receive condolences or amazement that I function so well, and various other reactions. My response? It is what it is. Do I wish I didn’t have to deal with it? Sure. But a) I don’t have a choice, and b) I have learned how to live with it fairly successfully thus far. I consider myself very lucky, actually. My surgeries have been minimal, and I am on a drug regime that works well for me. I am able to live a largerly normal life, and likely one fairly close to how I would live if I didn’t have to deal with it (I’m sure there would be differences, but I think I would still be a health and fitness driven individual). So, for me, it is what it is. And beyond that, thank goodness I am strong enough to handle this burden, as it were, rather than another without the support system and resources that I have access to.

cherry blos2

When I think back on the fact that I have yet to have a true, paying job in my chosen career field and am instead continuing to work as a waitress even though I have diplomas from a nationally top-100 prep school, a top-20 university, and an Ivy, a) I have to chuckle; b) yes I am incredibly frustrated; but c) look at all of the opportunities it has afforded me. Hourly, I make way more than I would if I was working as a preservationist. My job at Orzo paid for my honeymoon and start-up costs here in Chicago. The supplemental income goes into our savings. And I am still able to pursue certain passions, like running and working out.

When I think about the fact that I am currently seeing so little of Alex, I am like YES!!! JUST KIDDING. Actually, I hate it. But you know what? Thank. God. That we are so strong as a couple to be able to handle the separation in our first year of marriage. Thank god it is because he is doing something he loves, and that what he loves is actually beneficial to the world. He is making a difference. Thank goodness we like each other enough to actually wish we were able to spend more time together. Thank goodness I am working nights because that means a) I am good enough at my job to be considered for it and b) those are the money shifts, so if we are going to have to be separated, at least it is for a reason. And you know what, it makes those times that we are together all the more special. We try to focus on US, have a real conversation.

kitteh

I could go on, but I’ll spare you. My point is this: and it is something that I firmly believe in: Events in life may or may not happen for a reason, but as I said in my last post, life is about your reaction to what it throws at you. My life is pretty much a comedy of errors (at least in my mind). But you know what, when I look at it rthat way, how can I not laugh? I am a ridiculous human being. I have a ridiculous cat, and a ridiculous husband. I am met with absurd situations that I muddle through as best I can. Some of my muddling is more successful than others, but you know what, I tried.

Dear-optimist-pessimist-and-realist

That doesn’t make me an optimist; it makes me the ultimate realist: I am realistic in knowing that life is what it is, and to some extent I have the power to shape it, but certain things are just beyond my control. As long as I live according to my morals, it is not possible to live with regret. Reason for it or not, A has gotten me to B. B could be better, but B could be worse. And B can always GET better.

The ultimate test of strength is learning to see the real and positive when the going gets tough.

Have a great day! Stay warm–it is a high of negative degrees here in Chicago, gulp….

Are you an optimist? A realist? A pessimist?

About SuzLyfe

Live Life Beyond Expectation. In compression pants. NASM CPT, Runner/fitness junkie, kitchen explorer, opinionated opinionater. I show Crohn's Disease who's boss everyday. #FitFluential #SweatPink #GirlsGoneSporty #Ramblen #CCFAteamchallenge

Posted on January 27, 2014, in Crohn's, Lyfe, Marvelous, Tough Talk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I think I’m a pessimist in my own life – so I think it won’t work out for me. But I’m a realist for the rest of the time and am trying to be in my own life too. I think I just believe that if I prepare for the worst, then I’ll be ready for anything, but that doesn’t make the rest of life very fun! I want to be able to enjoy the good times without wondering if a bad time is around the corner because that ruins the fun – and I’m working on that!

    • And, hey, isn’t that what life is all about? Just working on yourself to be the best that you can be? Just like running–we get injured, we hit the wall, we bust through and PR…. at the moment, it is ALL OVER and then looking back, we are like, I’m such a pansy. It’s just remembering that it will seem like nothing after it’s over that is so difficult!

  2. I would definitely say I’m a realist!!! I hope for the best, but of course don’t want to be disappointed!

  3. How is it that you always make me think on a monday? You do the rest of the week too through our various methods of communication haha, but mondays stick out to me as a day that this always happens 😛 I think the way you see yourself is very unique and true to you. I think I’m probably a realistic optimist if that makes sense. I definitely tend to look at things for what they are, and I usually prefer to be surprised by something good happening rather than expecting it, but I also know that deep down, there’s usually a part of me that hopes for the best/believes everything will work out the way it’s supposed to

    • Love the “realistic optimist” perspective/slant. I think that you always have to have a piece of you that hopes, because otherwise what is the point?
      Or you just need to have a drink–as Bear Grylls once said, if you don’t drink, you don’t have a hope (the boys’ motto on get together nights :D)

  1. Pingback: Escape To Me | Chasing Chels

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.