March Madness (in a good way!) #WIAW

In many ways, I am sad to see March go. How will April measure up? I’m just going to have to think of April as the second child: special in its own way. Right, Mom? April is (hopefully) going to be the month when spring FINALLY decides to show its face. Also, my birthday week starts next week. JUST SAYING. Funnily enough, I felt far more culinary inspiration last week, before the onset of the sunshine, than I have this weekend! Consequently, I think that I need to look back at March, in all of its edible prowess, and garner some new verve so that I can properly take advantage of the oncoming season.

Thank you, of course, to our hostess Jenn, without whom we would be lost. And hungry.

wiawphotobutton

 

How can I possibly forget the first most decadent WIAW of the month (also my 100th post!): my trip to Pittsburgh, where Caitlin and I nibbled our way through the neighborhoods

dessert4

sq cafe collage

toast Collage

I have issues with sugar.

I have issues with sugar.

and got spoiled by Chef Joe.

mussels3

When I came back from Pittsburgh, Alex and I went to Seasons 52 (don’t worry, I will recap this, but we are planning on going there for our birthdays, so I thought I might just wait!). It was fantastic–thus why we will be returning!

seasons spread

 

I created March Madness Pasta. Delicious!.

blueberry pastaedited

We ate at the Gage with Natalie of Ramblen,

Venison Carpaccio

Venison Carpaccio

And I double Bretzel’ed with Danielle!

BRETZELS-- A recent review (that I am finishing) for Ramblen

BRETZELS– A recent review (that I am finishing) for Ramblen

danielle and iAlex and I indulged (next to Gina Neely) at Sable, and enjoyed some amazing food and cocktails.

Sable Collage

 

I made Olympic Nachos.

olympic nachos editedIn Atlanta, I refueled after the half marathon with my mom, brother, and his roommate at Richard Blais’ FlipBurger in the Virginia Highlands.

flip Collage

This weekend, Alex and I hit up Dao for our favorites–Naem Sod for me 😀

dao2editedAnd then went to Hub 51, where I got a fantastic salad with crab, shrimp, jicama, and also sorts of other goodness, as well as a hummus platter to start.

hub4edited

And to close out the month, I made Alex a scumptious stuffed French toast for his birthday. Recipe to come on Friday!

stuffed french toasteditedAn exceptional month, and an exceptional year of food thus far. Let’s keep it rolling!

Happy April, Fools!

What was the best dish you enjoyed this month? This week? What are you excited to make next?

I need some lunchtime inspiration! Help me out!

 

 

About SuzLyfe

Live Life Beyond Expectation. In compression pants. NASM CPT, Runner/fitness junkie, kitchen explorer, opinionated opinionater. I show Crohn's Disease who's boss everyday. #FitFluential #SweatPink #GirlsGoneSporty #Ramblen #CCFAteamchallenge

Posted on April 2, 2014, in Recipes, Waited On, WIAW and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. So much delicious on one post! All the yum.

    And for lunch, I have a favorite raw slaw that is delicious. With miso and cashews and cabbage (obviously) and green onions and red peppers and I’ll post it maybe sometime soon.

    • ooooo, you know that sounds so so good. I need to get some miso back in my life–it has been a long, long time since I used it in an original way…. I can’t wait to see what you came up with! And to check in on your foot 😦

  2. your mommy, Clare

    Chick- Fil-A !!

  3. your mommy, Clare

    and, yes……the second child is special in her own way. I could have used his or her own way but as YOU are the second child, I’ll use “her” here.

    The second child is not a junior of the first one, or “the spare” as in “the heir and the spare” for the English crown.

    The second one gets parents who are already broken in. We hover, but not as closely, we worry, but about different things, we give you hand-me-down clothes and toys. If you dropped your “my-my” (your pacifier), we’d pick it up, pop it in our mouths to clean it off and then give it back to you. ….and don’t say “yuck,” parents still do that all the time!

    As parents, we try to protect the baby from the older sib, as in we told Chris he could not hit his baby sister (which he never would have)—it never occurred to us to tell you not to hit your big brother! That came out of our mouths later!

    You argued and you had a few (very few) squabbles, but when it was just the two of you together, you were best friends.

    You, the second one, had your own personality. You copied your brother in certain things, but you had your own opinions on almost everything–and you still do!

    Chris was born a week late, and I’d still be pregnant with him if I hadn’t tripped the night before he was born. He was perfectly comfortable puttering around in there. You…..came early, you were ready to see the world from the outside.

    I’m the youngest of 4, so I was the baby, but my being the fourth one– well, it was old hat for my parents. They knew what to do with me, like how to let me have a proper temper tantrum. If I had a major meltdown at home–they left me alone in the room–its hard to keep up the tantrum when there is no one around to hear you!

    Second kids have it easier on so many levels, but it is very hard and very difficult when parents compare the second one to the first. You were and are very different and that made it so much fun.

    and, Susie, stop sucking on Chris’s ninja turtle’s head and give it back to him…..now!

  4. your mommy, Clare

    Susie, that is Chris’s, give it back to him, please……now

  1. Pingback: Beneficial Strategic Selfishness: It’s How You #Treatyourselftuesday | SuzLyfe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.