#TheLongRun Series: Live the Suzlyfe

I got my mojo back this week (I rebooted) after a little lull and pity party a week ago.

Maybe I found my strong. Or at least started to.

Maybe I found my strong. Or at least started to.

No, things are not all roses and sun-out-of-your-a$$, but I’m definitely back to the forward direction. Because my mom is going to give birth to a bovine if I don’t fill you all in, here are some of the fitness/professional/personal developments on the Suzlyfe horizon:

1) Running update. So I have a few different ideas as to what is going on. One is that my ankle/arch basically locks up–I noticed while running on Wednesday that I was having a great deal of difficulty dorsiflexing my foot (flexing my foot) when running. That is definitely causing me issues and my calf to over-work. Furthermore, remember last week when I thought I had Chataranga ankle tendonitis? It is definitely connected–my big toe is definitely overworking/underworking, and it is forcing my calf to pick up the strain. Actively focusing on engaging my glutes (basically I look like a constipated duck) helps quite a bit, but my calf still feels tight not that far into my run.

Not like this, but it makes me laugh every time.

Not like this, but it makes me laugh every time.

So right now, I am wearing my Pro Compression sleeves/socks while I run, or taping with Rocktape, and high stepping (ish) with a lot of concentration on my form. I have also noticed that in 2 of the 3 runs that I have done since this problem has come to light, that I have been wearing my precious Ravennas rather than my Defyances. Could be coincidence, but we shall see. Regardless, I shan’t be leaving my Brooks anytime soon.

Dear Brooks. Send me stuff.

Dear Brooks. Send me stuff.

The calf tightness Wednesday became more of a soreness afterwards, but yoga didn’t seem to impact it at all, and icing helped. The next day (Thursday) it continued to improve, and Friday I ran again. Calf tightness arose not even a full mile in, but was significantly less. So, after talking with Alex, the plan is to work on releasing my arch and ankle before I run and to continue running–this might be a strength and conditioning issue. When you do things like the spin bike, you maintain cardiovasc fitness/endurance, but you are not getting the same movement through your ankle. So we are going to play with it. I have 6 months until my marathon–plenty of time to figure things out. And whether I run it or not, I have paid for it (there is no transfer/deferral option). So that’s that!

2) Professional. So I’ve made some interim business cards for me to hand out to businesses and bloggers and things (I decided that if I want to work in fitness, I probably shouldn’t give them cards with “Architectural History/Historic Preservation” on them). I will get new cards once I get my NASM, but these will serve until then. I’m not going to put up a pic for security reasons, but they aren’t too exciting, really.

zoe_suzlyfe

Zoe is not impressed

One thing on them that is kinda exciting and fun? A simple phrase :

Live the Suzlyfe.

What does that mean?

And if nothing else, can they really say no to this?

And if nothing else, can they really say no to this?

You know what it means (ice cream). But fine, I will spell it out for you. In due time.

3) NASM (duh). It is weird relearning and re-structuring how I think of fitness. So much of what I am reading and learning makes a great deal of sense, but it is difficult recontextualizing the information into a given program that has a given organization and progression. And it isn’t easy to learn it on your own. But luckily, I have had some amazing people in my fitness past, so I have an excellent background.

I said backGROUND. Not back. Though it did look pretty good there.

I said backGROUND. Not back. Though it did look pretty good there.

OH! And I am getting CPR certified through my apartment building! They randomly sent out an email for a CPR course at my apartment complex in a week and a half, so BOOM CPR cert (to be) done!

4) Yoga. So I have been going on and on and on about how much I love CorePower and my girls Kayla and Linnea, and how upset I was to have to give up something that I have come to love so much. Well, let’s just say that good things happen when you are ready for them. I went to yoga on my bday (after the run), decided to do a lighter class with Kayla, and then Linnea and I started talking before the C2 class (she was teaching it right after), and I mentioned my situation. Linnea was like, “You’ve heard of our Yoga for Trade program, right?” Uh, no.

A legitimate question.

A legitimate question.

So the short and short of it is that, if accepted, I will go in to CPY 1/week, clean for 3 hours, and I get unlimited yoga Black Tag membership and discounts on yoga training. YES.

5) Yoga Sculpt. I continued talking to Linnea and she asked if I had considered being a teacher. Yes, I did, but it was $$$. Well the YFT program gives me a discount (which helps but it’s still expensive). Anyhoo. I don’t have to have the full yoga teacher training to teach yoga sculpt, which basically merges power yoga and strength training. YES. It is a 40 hour course, and there are 2 sessions coming up: May (which I likely can’t do because of travel) and September (which Linnea is teaching at my studio). And she said that I shouldn’t have much trouble getting hired by CPY, especially with my CPT, and they are always expanding and looking for people to do stuff like that. DONE.

You-Shut-Your-Mouth-When-Youre-Talking-to-Me

6) Friends. I obviously have you guys, but I need some girls here, too. And I think Linnea and Kayla are my type of people. I would be happy to clean for 3 hours in order to get free yoga and girl time.

Twee is ma fwend.

Twee is ma fwend.

7) Blog. I am going to continue trying to grow the Suzlyfe. I have recently applied to some ambassadorships (as in, I applied Friday), and I think they could be real opportunities for me to get some clout both in the personal and professional world. The Suzlyfe is still finding out what she wants to be when she grows up–I think that these ambassadorships could help with that.

And before you ask, no, we are not talking BIG time ambassador ships with my loves Brooks or Procompression. These are more community ambassadorships. I will sadly not be receiving an shoes in a spaceship any time soon.

8) Blog/Personal. I need to get back to cooking and developing fun ways to fuel this lyfe. You all know I have hilarious tastes, and I have gotten a bit out of practice and motivation to try new things. For shame! I dream up things all the time, but I haven’t done much about it of late.

I need more of this type of flava in the kitchen

I need more of this type of flava in the kitchen. Chelsea Patricia Photography

As you can see, I am on the cusp of several little things that, when combined, hopefully will lead to some BIG changes. I know that I have a pretty large learning curve ahead of me, but I like to think that I am pretty smart (at least, I am a pretty smart-a$$). So, we’ll just have to see if I finally conquer (my) world, or if I fall right back on my bum. One thing is for sure, though: I am not going back to waiting tables. Been there, done that (and yes, I did keep one tshirt and my aprons, but I gave away the shoes and the other shirts). Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go learn how to torture people and get paid to do it. Actually, I should get paid to teach people that.

stronger kelly

Have  you ever had to try to completely redefine yourself professionally? To be the person in the business world that your personal life had been telling you to be for a long, long time? 

Give me a fitness/health status update. Where is your running/lifting/yoga, right now? What are you struggling with, and how are you feeling accomplished?

About SuzLyfe

Live Life Beyond Expectation. In compression pants. NASM CPT, Runner/fitness junkie, kitchen explorer, opinionated opinionater. I show Crohn's Disease who's boss everyday. #FitFluential #SweatPink #GirlsGoneSporty #Ramblen #CCFAteamchallenge

Posted on April 12, 2014, in Lyfe, The Long Run and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I haven’t in the professional world yet but I feel like I will haha going to school for Marketing and realizing the health and fitness field is for me is the extent right now! Not to mention the blogging world I have entered into 🙂

    • Well, I will say this–going to school for marketing ain’t gonna hurtcha in the health and fitness biz, especially not these days, where any business is super driven by social media. And above all, you will find throughout life and time that the business world is driven by the ability to present yourself how you want others to see you, and then to proliferate and maintain that message. And keep on getting those feelers out there–you will find out where you are supposed to be.

  2. I’ve been debating blog business cards for a while but have yet to pull the trigger on it. One day 🙂
    I’m glad you have some semi answers on your injury. Fingers crossed for a speedy recovery!
    My yoga studio also has karma staff – I’d love to join, but I really don’t think I even have a spare 3 hours a week. Boo 😦

    • Well, “luckily” I am unemployed. I like thinking of myself as karma. Though I don’t know what they did to deserve me–perhaps they are hiding bodies in the back?
      Getchoself some personal cards! And then send me one!

  3. your mommy, Clare

    I love the Cinderella bit—it is hysterical! Of course, one of my favorite phrases is
    “If the shoe fits……buy it in every color!

  4. Struggling: convincing my mom that working for a year or two as a store manager at a running store in Boston will actually help me break into marketing/business. I really admire how much thought you’ve put into everything you talked about here. It shows that you have given everything strong considerations and you’re making moves that will help you out in so many areas of your life. I wish my yoga studio had that karma thing! I’ve heard about it but I haven’t been to a studio that does that program yet. It’s such a good deal!

    • I know!!! I am so excited, and really happy that the teachers recognize how much I love it, too. Thank you so much for say that part about the thought I’ve put into these steps–it’s funny, I really have, but I hadn’t realized just how much I have until you just said it! It’s like I knew instinctively to take these steps methodically, but I didn’t realize that I needed to at the time. And then, I just took stock and surveyed the scenery.
      I don’t disagree with either you or your mom with regards to the running store bit. I applied to a position to become a membership advisor (basically, I would sell the memberships) at a big gym here. I bombed the interview (adrenaline and too little sleep lol) but the idea behind it was to help me understand the business side of the commercial fitness business. Your mom is seeing it as you “settling.” Perhaps she doesn’t realize how much more power and breadth of reach running store managers have these days? Look at Fleet Feet Sports–they just hosted Bart Yasso and RW. I definitely think that you have your head in the right place, and I admire your willingness and acceptance of the “pay your dues” facts of life. Many would just expect to have it handed to them. Kudos to you for having humility and major work ethic.

  5. I love this post and I love your courage to follow your dreams and your intuition! Over the past year, I have been working to completely change my course. I quit my job, went to school to become a personal trainer, and becoming a registered yoga teacher this summer. It hasn’t all been easy. And with that being said, I am so grateful for my decision to follow what is best for me and my life. You have to do what makes you come alive in life!!

    • I’m so happy to hear this, and thank you so much for your support. It can be hard to admit we need a major change, but at the end of the day, we are only doing a disservice to (our) world by not enabling ourselves to be happy and successful. And thank goodness for the support of those around us!

  6. I’m so excited for all of the big things that are coming your way! They all sound awesome. My goal is actually to get my yoga teacher training this summer – I’m just waiting for a reduced price one to come through the university!

  1. Pingback: Spring Sprang! Then It Sleeted #MIMM | SuzLyfe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.