I wanted the Giant Pink Lawn Flamingo #MIMM

Quick Happy Birthday to my dear Grandfather. I have missed you so much since you left us physically, but you are always with me.

And let’s talk about Marvelous things!

Thanks, Katie!

Thanks, Katie!

If you’re wondering why I wish I had a giant pink lawn flamingo, then I am sorry, but we can’t be friends. Wanting a giant pink lawn flamingo is a natural American birthright.

Quick digression–I love anything idiot (obviously) and silly (also obviously) but I have the restraint to not purchase such things. My mother, on the other hand, is helpless to the pull of things absurd, themed, and or kitchy. Thus why I have, throughout the years, received stuffed turkey wine glass base holders (basically, an attached coaster) and, also memorably, a metal garden flamingo. I immediately unloaded the “gobblers” on Alex and his roommate and told the boys to abuse the things (we all went to UVA and mercilessly made fun of and badmouthed the “gobblers/Chokies” aka the Virginia Tech Hokies (Turkeys, basically). I thought it was appropriate). The metal garden flamingo, however, stood the test of time, received the name of Ralph, and migrated apartment to apartment until I left for grad school. I also “rescued” 2 drink flamingoes (put in Buddha drinks, classy, I know, at a hibachi place in Cville that Alex and I went to with friends to celebrate his bday), the first of which was named Scarlett and the second was MMMMMMaaaahhhhtin (in an overly affected Brit accent), and lived in our cars. WE KNOW we are special.

Not a giant pink lawn flamingo, but similar idea as Ralph. Only Ralph "flew" on a stake.

Not a giant pink lawn flamingo, but similar idea as Ralph. Only Ralph “flew” on a stake.

I miss PGH and my Twin (who also has PF)

Ok, long digression. For a full explanation of the intricacies of the giant lawn flamingo, please see Saturday’s post. For what followed, let’s discuss. And to make sure that you at the very least scroll through the entirety of the post, announcement(s) at the bottom!!

We are going to Tarantino this post like Saturday’s as well–to keep you wanting more–and go in reverse order:

Monday (Today) — Alex is off and we plan on being boring. The weather is supposed to suck. A workout will be involved. So what else is new.

Pretty much.

Pretty much.

Saturday PM/Sunday–Alex’s parents came to town this weekend, so after I got my nails did (I had to remove the chipped polish before the Sproing event, another fail of the day), I met up with Alex (post nap) and his parents for a chat at Panera, then I took them to Coco Pazzo, and after we went to visit my sister in law’s twin sister at her apartment. I came home, ice creamed, and crashed. Sunday morning I got an exciting email (!), worked out on the step mill (ermigerd) for 20 mins and did triceps (couldn’t lift my arms after). Then this happened:

west egg berry pancakes Collage

Chyeah. And if you are wondering why you get a pic of half eaten pancakes, it was to show the massive cherries and blueberries inside. I wish you could tell better but there is granola sprinkled throughout the batter as well. ERMIGERD.

Saturday AM: lots and lots of blog work. If you are new to the Suzlyfe, hi hello! and welcome. Please troll about and click on things (shoot me an email if something doesn’t work, pleaseandthankyou). I have updated a lot of the links and pages at the top of the screen, so there should be better navigation for you all. Still a work in progress though.

NOWWWW, Pink Flamingo Day (Friday): I worked out, I contemplated with a woman calling an animal rescue group when we found a dog tied up outside a McDonalds, but the dog was picked up soon after (we presume by the owner, we were inside trying to figure out what to do), I had an awesome lunch, the sun was shiny shiny, I had my doctor’s appointment re: foot, I went to Whole Foods, then got a slurpee (suck on that WFM), then went and sat outside at a Starbucks and worked on this post. Then someone literally SWIPED MY PHONE FROM MY TABLE IN FRONT OF ME and bolted.

unimpressed meme

Someone (ahem) rightly asked how the phone could be stolen as I watched. Lest you think I am blind as well as a ninny, let me explain: I was sitting at a table outside of a Sbux with my laptop, backpack and phone. Phone and laptop on table. Person came up behind me, swiped it, and dashed. I stood up, and in .5 s opted against tearing after them (I did yell though).  I a) am hurt, and b) am not about to leave my laptop and backpack (with my wallet) to save a phone that was going to be replaced before too long and that I back up all the time (hello blogger). Also, passcode protected. And insured. So I picked up my stuff and headed to the ATT store (HI LISETTE YOU ARE AWESOME), and now I have the brand new HTC One M8, which is taking some getting used to, but I think will be a truly amazing device. I will review it in about a week or so, but so far, I am really really impressed.

I came home (was ravenous), had a snack, then I walked Alex to the hospital and went to maybe one of my absolute favorite areas of the city (Old Town) and to an event that I thought I would stay at for, eh, maybe 30 minutes? Yeah, I was the last one to leave–I had so much fun talking to the owners Paul, Susan, and Ingrid, and one of the trainers, John, that I literally couldn’t leave. If you missed my tweet, get excited for a review to come on the new Sproing Studio–this is going to be big, people. At is MOST basic, it is a contraption (I would liken it to a Pilates reformer for runners.

sproing1

Action shot

Also similar in that it looks CRAZY but is totally easy to use and can accommodate a nearly unlimited number of exercises) that takes the impact out of running. Imagine being a toddler on a kid leash, running against your parents (walking you like a dog), but running on a camping mattress that reads your cadence, speed, distance, etc, and that you can adjust. And then using the proprioceptive properties of the air + Pose method running to strengthen you kinetic chain and work you out. And then turning around and doing lunges and stuff, TRX style. That is it in a nutshell, but know that as soon as I have the ok from the doc, I am there like….a fast thing, but one coming off an injury so give me some buffer time JIC.plum market heaven Collage

Then, I went to Plum Market (obsessed), got hold/cold bar and some other goodies (you guys, they have the mecca of nut butter and popcorn. ::ANGELS::), and then froyo on the way home (first time in forever). And then my Spaghetti Squash Protein Pancakes with Sunflower butter.

squash protein pancakes2 suz

It. was. a. Day. Even longer than that recap, which was exhausting for all of us (anyone want a drink after that?).

FUN THINGS

A) Holllla to all my b*tches who owned their races and runs this weekend! Ange, Mama Salt, Cassie (who is a fellow Sigma Kappa (DOVE LOVE)), Pickster (shout out to Caitlin for the nickname), and ALL THE PEOPLE (Erica, Meghan crap my brain just went blank–leave me a comment if I forgot you!!) who ran the Country Music Marathon. And if you ran, just to run, d@mn you. JK, I hope it was awesome and fantastical and perfect.

B) I am now a proud member of Girls Gone Sporty Ambassador Team STELLAR. I may have not gotten a pink flamingo, but I got a pink badge!

ggs logo I have had my eye on GGS for a while now, and I think that it is going to be another great facet of the Suzlyfe. Between Ramblen (Travel, Fit in the City), Swirlgear (apparel and community), I’m Fit Possible (inspiration, knowledge, and community), Chicago Blogger Network (local blogging), and now Girls Gone Sporty (inspiration, innovation, education, and business), I think that the blog is really going places. And more growing to come.

C) Something that I am adamant about returning to is my initial purpose of broaching the aspects of life that can be tough to deal with in every day life and to speak about in a public forum. I am bring back the Tough Talk series, as I discussed last week, and I invite you to go to the Tough Talk page (use the menu up above) and maybe catch up a little bit. If there are particular topics that you would like to see discussed, please email me, tweet/DM or carrier pigeon (but know I have a cat. But it’s Zoe so should be fine). I have Crohn’s, specifically, but I think that much of what I learned is as applicable to another IBD/IBS/UC patient as to someone who has just gotten some not-so-great news. I also have clinical anxiety/depression, have dealt with obsessive eating behaviors, dysfunctional hormones, and I run–lots of avenues to connect through. **I am not an expert, I don’t pretend to be. Take my words as you will, take what you will, but I only hope to help.**

D) And because this is last, and likely you all fell asleep long ago, I will be mentioning this again, but my lovely fellow Southern Belle and I have decided that we have a ton of running shhhhtuff that we don’t use/need to pare down, but is too nice/not used enough to toss/donate. We are thinking running blogger garage sale. Interested? Let us know (email that upppp).

flamingo

Mental high five, you’re done for now.

Do you like random bits of lawn/house paraphenalia, or do you prefer ascetic surroundings?

Would you rather I did multiple posts a day, rather than 1 long one? 

Reminder for discussion as well: New readers? Racers I didn’t mention (I promise I love you!)? Tough talk topics? Running garage sale/clothing swap? ANYONE ELSE FROM TEAM STELLAR OUT THERE?

 

About SuzLyfe

Live Life Beyond Expectation. In compression pants. NASM CPT, Runner/fitness junkie, kitchen explorer, opinionated opinionater. I show Crohn's Disease who's boss everyday. #FitFluential #SweatPink #GirlsGoneSporty #Ramblen #CCFAteamchallenge

Posted on April 28, 2014, in Girls Gone Sporty, I'm Fit Possible, Lyfe, Marvelous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 41 Comments.

  1. I’m a new reader and you are hilarious! That is seriously crazy about your phone! I’m impressed you were calm enough to reason not to leave your purse and laptop – who knows, that could have been the plan!

    • Hi Heather! Thank you so much for saying hi! And thank you, thank you, I try 😉 It was one of those crazy, surreal moments where time sllllooowwwsss down but also happens so fast–like I had time to think, but not react. And I agree with you that it was likely the plan to draw me away from the table. Luckily, I outsmarted (well, maybe outwitted, I won’t go into smarts) them. And I got an awesome new phone because it was time for an upgrade. Lose some, win some. I hope that you’ll continue to read and comment!

  2. Newish reader here–love your writing style and excited to see more 🙂

    • Thank you! So glad that you commented–I love my core group of commentors to death (yeah, that serious) but I always love to meet new faces. Thank you so much for the compliment, and I hope to continue to not disappoint!

  3. Congrats on Girls Gone Sporty – that is awesome! And the phone stealing? Crazy. But an awesome story. Some people… 🙂 glad you had a good weekend!

    • Thanks love! And I’m so, so happy you got some running in (and foam rolling, obvi) this weekend. But yeah, I am amazed at what people do everyday. Some good others flabbergasting. At least they didn’t try to take my jelly beans–that might have necessitated me running after them, hurt or not.

  4. LOVE YOU, STELLAR SISTER!! I am so excited for us! This is going to be so much fun. 🙂
    I am obsessed with lawn flamingos. I have three…a black, orange, and purple one. (Representative of my hometown sports teams haha.) Now I just need a yard to put them in. They currently live in planters out on my deck. 🙂

    Those pancakes are insane. I want some right now!

    • Hahahaha that is magical that you have multiple and color-coordinated lawn flamingos. and you are now further into the realm of awesome than you were previously, which is saying something. The pancakes were without a doubt some of the tastiest I have yet had. The granola wasn’t soggy (somehow) but still was obviously within the batter, and the exploding berries were just mmmmmmmm
      LOVE YOU BACK STELLAR SISTER

  5. Also hold up…how did I fail to address that pegasus planter!? I WANT IT.

  6. I wish we had such a place as The Plum Market where I lived! That looks like heaven!

  7. Love random bits of lawn paraphernalia especially flamingos! Amazing. Oh and gnomes

  8. your Mommy, Clare

    Only one a day, please–otherwise I wouldn’t get anything else done! Seriously!

  9. Sooooo many things going on! Jeesh! I can’t get past those pancakes. Um yum. I’m all about the pancakes, obviously. You had a really awesome weekend and thanks for the link love. You da best. I’ll even admit that you guys came up with a pretty good nickname for me. I just turned down MACAROONS from a guy I met at November Project for gods sake. There must be something wrong with me. And yayyyy for all of this blog exposure! You’re going to take over the blog world before anyone knows what hit them 😉

    • Hahaha ARE YOU SICK GET THE MACAROONS??? And me taking over the blog world? Ha–you are way ahead, darling. I’m just trying to build a nice little foundation and have some fun. And when you come, pancakes + froyo (ps, they haven’t done any work on the store, they need to get on it)–both within a block of my apartment. BOOM

  10. Congrats on joining Girls Gone Sporty! And I’m sorry to hear about your phone! I love the idea of the Tough Talk page, I look forward to reading through the page later today.

    • Awesome–please please let me know what you think on the content, and I love suggestions for discussions and the like. I’m trying to keep some structure to it all, but so much emotion is involved that it will be hard. And thank you thank you for the congrats and condolences–it was a bit of a roller coaster weekend!

  11. Woot woot!!! Sistas yet again thanks to GGS 🙂 I still can’t get over the PF randomness…what are the odds of that? That pancake pic made me hungry all over again, too….not getting to eat lunch yesterday thanks to crp/first aid has left my appetite out of control…so the boys will be missing some stuff by the time they wake up from snoozes 😉

    • Twins fo evaaaaa! And please please eat something!! Pancakes or otherwise! And my appetite has been raging since I up everything. After the first day, I’ve been hungry all the freaking time. Even more so than usual and that is saying some thing.

  12. Happy birthday to your grandfather! And congrats on GGS, sooo exciting go Team Stellar! I’m so sorry your phone got stolen, I definitely would’ve taken off running and screaming after them- you have amazing self control! I forgive you for forgetting about me, but only because you are awesome and I don’t think I could ever be mad at you 🙂

    • Sweet. I’m glad you are mad at me. And how could I forget about the undereye stripes?! And the fantastical shirt? No excuses. I will eat a cupcake in penance. Forgiven? #teamstellarlove

  13. Plum Market?! How have I not heard of this?! Googling it now. That studio sounds really cool. I love Old Town as well 🙂 Wait what Starbucks was this?! Since I know you live near me now I’m freaking out a little! How scary!

  14. High-five, lady! We’re on the same Girls Gone Sporty team! WOO!
    I still hope the douchenozzle who stole your phone gets a case of the herp. Seriously.
    AND – your text message MADE MY DAY on Sunday ❤

  15. I just bought a flamingo decor thing from Party City. I want a lawn ornament but I’m afraid people will steal it. 😦

  16. First off all, would you hate me if I said I thought your mom was awesome? I hope, not because she is! Congrats on being an girls gone sporty ambassador too! Third, ummmm you are awesome, and i have to know, can I please come visit you once I am healthy?

  17. So much stuff I could comment on here Suzy, I love your posts! I am not an American….does that mean I can ask why a pink flamingo? 😛 I am sorry about your phone being swiped though, some people just amaze me….yesterday I found my water bottle I had placed out for myself for my 19 mile run…..well into the bush….someone must have thrown it in there….WHY? What was it doing to you? Grrr!!

    Congrats on girls gone sporty…..I am too! We are now teammates?

    • No, you cannot have a pink flamingo–yours has to be Union Jack 😛 hahahaha the water bottle incident is too much. After the marathon, at the after party, no less, someone took my stuff off of a chair (while I was getting food and a massage) and put it on the floor. So my mom and I sat on the ground in the meet up room. PEOPLE ARE WEIRD.
      And HOW DID I NOT KNOW WE ARE TEAMSTELLAR TOGETHER???? This is amazingly fantastic news. YAY! Congrats to you too!

  1. Pingback: Caramel Popcorn x2 and UNICEF Tap Project #treatyourself | SuzLyfe

  2. Pingback: You’re gonna need sunglasses and SPF #thinkingoutloud | SuzLyfe

  3. Pingback: What is Black, White, Pink, and BA all over? #FFavorites #strangebutgood #recipefriday | SuzLyfe

  4. Pingback: I Gotta Figure that Out #MIMM | SuzLyfe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.